Malaysia Uncut

A Repository of Malaysian Stuff and More

A woman living in limbo

Foreign Wife
I found this letter in malaysiakini while looking for some relevant information regarding foreign wives in the country.I have been married and living in Malaysia for nearly two decades and during my entire stay, I have lived in the country like a natural-born citizen of the country. I feel as if I belong here. With all my heart, with all my soul, I embraced everything Malaysian but till todate, after all these years, I am never granted citizenship or at least PR status.

I could only imagine what it would be like if my marriage ended. I have devoted my life to my marriage, children and to this country but time and people change and my spouse has turned into a verbally and occasional physically abusive husband. I have been alone for many years in mental torture and never seek support from the authority except that I tried getting help from his family and to my disappointment supported my husband.

I was helpless and felt alone that I made some bad decisions to try to correct the situation. It nearly jeopardised my children’s future. I admit, I do not have the courage to fight as I have
nowhere else to go and afraid that the relevant authority might support my husband if I file for a divorce. I just wish that the Immigration Department had given me a permanent status so that I would be entitled to the same rights as Malaysians are.

I hope this letter gives hope to many people who are in the same situation.

Source: http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/56288

Saturday, September 9, 2006 - Posted by | Commentary, Issues

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

